Making cards… with Iris Folding

kittencrafts

kittencrafts_iriskimono

What is Iris folding?

It’s an Old Dutch technique of arranging little folded strips of coloured paper in a (mostly) circular way over a cut out aperture or frame, kind of like the iris of an eye, sound easy? It is!

There are tutorials available online if you would like to try it, or books of patterns and ideas on Amazon and eBay (probably in your bookshop too, just not in mine).

I love this technique as it uses up all my little scraps of pretty paper from my other card making ventures and needs only that and some tape or glue and you’re good to go!

Usually I look for an interesting shape online, print it out and adjust the size with my scanner to fit the card I want to make. Then I trace it on the back of the cardstock I’m going to be using and cut…

View original post 249 more words

Leave a Reply

